Organized? Um, well…

Something that I really struggle with is being organized. Trying to find a way to do what I need to do and what I want to do is not easy. I would say it is like being on a balance beam or tight wire, but it is really more like trying to cross the grand canyon on a spider’s web. So what tools have I tried successfully? What has been a dismal failure? Or does it matter, am I just doomed to live in chaos?

Here’s what I think.

Tools:

My favorite and most successful tool is a list. Having a list to refer to helps to keep me focused, and the wonderful feeling of scratching off some dreaded task increases my energy and makes me want to scratch some more! One trick I use too is to make lists as specific as possible. I don’t “clean the kitchen”, I “rinse dishes, load dishwasher, run dishwasher, wipe down counters…” You get the idea I am sure. I find that I personally like my list on the computer. There is an up and a down to that strategy.  The upside is that I get to sit down for a minute, maybe take a very short break to reward myself. The downside is that the short break can easily become a long break. Right now I am using a program called Astrid. Any word processing program would do the job, but I want color and fun and a list that is interesting!

Next is a good calendar. I find that I do better with two. I have one, a white board type that I see regularly because it hangs on my bedroom door. I keep track of appointments, pay days, time spent in service, when and how much certain automatic drafts from my account are going to be. Then I just bought a book type calendar with each month spread across two pages. I keep that one on my dining room table. It combines the two, part list so I can see how busy I am on those days and then a place to put appointments, etc. So why three list/calendars? Out of sight, out of mind. This gives me three rooms that have something in front of me to say, “get crackin’ lady!” All I need now is one that is easy to use, chock full of features, pretty and will post to Facebook when I need to do something, but I guess you can’t have everything.

The last tool I have not done, but I think I am going to do it very soon. Studies show that goals that are written down are more likely to get accomplished. My list and my calendars are a form of this, but I think it might be nice to have a contract of sorts with myself. You may have heard of S.M.A.R.T. goals, I think that is what I want to try to add to my tool box.

I started out saying what has been dismal failures. I think it really is unfair to call anything a dismal failure because, well the truth being, I would have to own up to being the one that has failed. I try and try and still I just get overwhelmed or bored and just give up. So if you are struggling just don’t give up. Eventually we are both likely to find the right combination of tools to help us get organized!

 

 

 

16 thoughts on “Organized? Um, well…

  1. I’m CONSTANTLY trying to get more organized and I love my lists. My husband on the other hand…
    I love that feeling of physically needing to cross something off my list. I don’t like mine on the computer because I tend to NOT take the shorter break. That and it just doesn’t seem nearly as satisfying to write it all out and then cross it off. It’s almost like I can ignore it if it’s on the computer.
    I’ve done better about streamlining my house. That has certainly helped. I’m a packrat. I know that if I throw something away, I’ll end up needing it. When you’re poor, you don’t want to make that trip to the store to buy something that you just tossed. You’d think that I was the one that was a child of parents from the Depression…

  2. I really agree with you in regards to stream lining the house, mine is a mess and I really need to get caught up with that if I want to make any progress! Thank you so much for sharing! And if you have any other ideas, oh, please share more!! 🙂

  3. I have placed Post-its around the house that say, “Remember the wife of Lot.” It reminds me to not put too much emphasis on my possessions and that it’s better to let go of it now. I’ve even had dreams that there’s an emergency but I keep going back for things in my house and someone (including me) dies. I know this is pretty extreme but this is how much this being unorganized and untidy influences my life.

  4. Hey! I just would like to give a huge thumbs up for the nice information you have got right here on this post. I will probably be coming back to your weblog for more soon.

  5. Was making one the other night and my daughter asked me why I make them. I said that it helps me to remember what I have to get done and that it feels good to cross things off. She kinda laughed and said, “Why? You never get any of it done, anyway.”

    I gave up.

    1. Alise, first don’t give up. Secondly, it is likely that your daughter doesn’t recognize the things in life that get in the way of your being able to accomplish that list. If your making a list and you cross anything off, that is good. Just think, if you had no list you might really be in trouble! Funny though, but don’t give up!! 🙂

  6. I am really enjoying the theme/design of your site.

    Do you ever run into any browser compatibility problems?
    A few of my blog audience have complained about my blog not operating correctly in Explorer but looks
    great in Chrome. Do you have any ideas to help fix this problem?

    1. I am really not very tech savvy. I have only had one problem, and I doubt very seriously that it was a compatibility issue. If you run your mouse over your name and pic at the top of the screen a menu drops down and one of the options is help. I would go there. I received great help there for my problems when I started the Around the World series.

  7. As far as Explorer goes, I am seeing more and more sites telling people to upgrade to Chrome or something other than Explorer. Many things no longer work/work well in Explorer.

  8. An impressive share, I recently given this onto a colleague who was simply performing a minor analysis for this.
    And then he really bought me breakfast because I ran across it for
    him.. smile. So well then, i’ll reword that: Thnx for any other treat!
    Then again yeah Thnkx for spending some time to discuss this, Personally i think strongly concerning
    this and enjoy reading much more about this topic.
    Whenever you can, as you grow expertise, could
    you mind updating your blog site with a large amount more details?
    It is actually extremely of great help for me. Large thumb up in this blog post!

  9. certainly such as your web site then again you must check that the spelling on a couple of of your posts.
    Lots of of them have been rife with spelling issues and I get a hold of it very bothersome to
    tell that the truth nevertheless I will surely come back again.

    1. Spelling… grammar… they can all be important. But something else that is important is to get your ideas down without worrying about the grammar and spelling. The ideas are more important.

  10. Things i have seen in terms of computer memory is that
    the fact there are technical specs such as SDRAM, DDR and
    many others, that must match the features of that the motherboard.
    If that the personal computer’s motherboard is fairly recent while there are no operating-method issues, changing the memory literally takes under sixty minutes.

    It’s one of a couple of easiest personal computer upgrade techniques one can picture.
    Thanks for giving your ideas.

Leave a Reply

